The Black Parade Is Dead, Did You Pre-order?

Late last night I got the email, as I am sure many of you did too.  The DVD/CD combo was up for presale at 1am central time this morning.  Well, being the obsessive person I am, I ran right over to theblackparadeisdead.com and nearly had a heart attack before I finished checking out in the online WB store!  My heart was jolted back into rhythm when I saw the final price… $70 and some change.  This was with shipping and all.  You might say, “well you didn’t have to order the limited edition.”  Oh but I did!  I mean they know how to get ya.  They know what to do to make you want it all, and they know we love that band so much, we are willing to spend our lunch money or grocery money to get it! 🙂

I have poked around a few online bulletin boards and fan sites.  The concensus is general… “The limited edition is way to high!”  This is what is being screamed (written in all capital letters) around the internet.  And don’t get me wrong for a second, it stung a little when I mashed the “complete order” button this morning. 

So here is my question.  Did you buy the limited edition?  Are you happy with what you are getting?  Did you say “eff that” and buy the regular CD/DVD combo instead of the limited edition?

Just wondering what all the MyChemicalFreak readers have to say!

Your friend in brokeness,
Brandi 🙂 

8 Responses to “The Black Parade Is Dead, Did You Pre-order?”

  1. I’ve loved MCR since 2004, and when I saw that price I was like DANG oh well I want it! I am happy with what I am getting but yes I do think I paid a little too much. The thing is I love them so much I have no problem supporting them and giving them my moeny (trust me a couple thousand dollars of their paycheck has come from me) but I am usually willing to pay the price. They are the only band I feel that way about though. I mean I went and spent 50 bucks to get a “free” poster, but hey that was worth it too. I am constanty on eBay trying to get my hands on some legit MCR stuff too, so yeah. All in all, was it too mcuh yes, if it was more would I have paid it, prob.

  2. 5dollarmilkshake Says:

    Yeah, I definitely got the limited edition. I could not resist. And then I put in the wrong address on the order form. Yeah, trying to fix that right now. Dude, that live version of “Mama” that you download when you pre-order–Amazing!!! Unfortunately, we’re going to have a wait a while before we get ALL the awesomeness that “The Black Parade is Dead” has in store for us…

  3. Noelia Says:

    Honestly, I don’t mind spending a lot of money for the limited edition… but there’s a little problem: I live in Argentina and $80 dollars is like $240 down here and believe me I do not have that amount of money.
    I promised myself I would do whatever I can to gather it, begging is an option… or maybe rob a bank? Who knows! If there’s a higher power I’m sure “it” knows how much I love My Chem and how much I WANT THAT DVD!!!
    Wish me luck!

  4. I didnt buy the last limited edition and Im not sure if Im going to buy the CD/DVD regular edition this time. First of all I cant afford $60 for something as frivolous as that. I bought the first CD/DVD because the DVD gave us a little glimpse into THEM. I find that interesting. It makes them seem like real people (yes I know they are real people.. they poop and everything.. whether people like to acknowledge that fact or not).. but this seems like its just another way to jack up the cost of something that most of already experienced. My question is.. What happened to it not being about the money? Because it doesnt seem like thats the “motto” they are going along with anymore. Its more of… lets make as much as we can off of this before it ends. But.. thats just my opinion.

  5. Heres my question: Do you feel perhaps they (or it may not be them it may be management or what have you).. are taking advantage of “MCR mania” and jacking up prices because they KNOW that the majority will buy it?

  6. mychemicalfreak Says:

    Dee at first i thought… yeah they are just price gouging. Then i really thought about it. The price of everything has gone up in the last year. Mainly becuase of gas etc. So it might be a tad of the taking advantage of the mania but I think its also inflation lol.

    And i agree live footage is not worth as much as something like the video diary.

  7. Good point with the pricing Brandi. At this rate, In few more months my kids are going to be drinking drinking powdered milk (with water to make a liquid of course).

  8. mychemicalfreak Says:

    I KNOW WHAT THE HELL IS THE DEAL WITH THE PRICE OF A FUCKING GALLON OF MILK!

    Its completely insane!

Leave a comment